New California law limits how much your landlord can raise your rent.
The Tenant Protection Act of 2019 (AB 1482) is a new law that limits how much landlords can raise rent starting January 1, 2020.
What is the rent increase limit?
If your housing is covered by the new law, your landlord can only raise your rent: 5% + Annual increase in inflation or 10%, whichever is less. Right now inflation is 3.3% in most parts of California. This means your landlord can probably only increase your rent a total of 8.3%.
How often can my landlord raise my rent?
If the law applies to you, your landlords can only raise your rent twice during a 12 month period. And, the total rent increase for the two increases cannot be more than the rent limit amount.
Does the law apply to me?
- The law applies throughout California. It protects many renters in California, but not all.
The rent limit protections apply to renters who live in:
- Most apartment buildings that were built at least 15 years ago.
- Duplexes that were built at least 15 years ago - if the owner does not live in the other side.
- Single family houses that were built at least 15 years ago that are owned by a corporation.
The law does not apply to some renters, including those who live in:
- Housing that was built less than 15 years ago;
- Some single family homes owned by individuals; and
- Some types of Low-Income Housing, where the rents are kept lower by a deed or regulatory agreement. (Note: this does not include renters with a Section 8 voucher.)
This is not a complete list of who the law protects and who it does not apply too. Contact our local office to get more information about whether the law applies to you.